Home made, Recipe

Chicken lasagna with spinach and cheese sauce

Since I haven’t posted a recipe in a long time, I took advantage of my appetite and the desire to do something special, and so I prepared myself a few days for this recipe. And this is how chicken lasagna with spinach and white cheese sauce was born.

I have to admit that I have limited experience with lasagna, to me it is rather complicated and time consuming, but once or twice a year I gather the courage and it  never disappoints … although I have to work a bit on the plating.

For the recipe we need:

  • 1 box of lasagna – approx. 20 sheets
  • 250 g mozzarella cheese

For filling:

  • 500 g chicken minced meat
  • 500 g frozen spinach
  • 2 larger green onions
  • 250 ml tomato sauce
  • Salt, pepper to taste
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

For white sauce:

  • 50 g butter
  • 4 tablespoons flour
  • 300 ml of milk
  • 500 g ricotta cheese
  • Salt, pepper to taste

I started the preparations in advance, I chopped the onion and I saute it a little before I added the chicken. After I added the chicken I left it until the meat was done (no more pink) then I added the spinach, tomato sauce and spices to taste.

As the composition cools, I had help with the white sauce. I like to share the chores in the kitchen,  it seems that the time flies faster this way.

For the white sauce I used the base for Béchamel :  we melted the butter in a saucepan, added 4 tablespoons of flour, then slowly added the warm milk. After the sauce is well mixed, add the ricotta, salt and pepper to taste.

What follows is the simplest and most anticipated moment … assembling.

20170607_212610
The first layer was the white sauce , then the layer of filling, then the lasagna sheets. Over the layer of filling I’ve added shredded mozzarella  to enhance the taste of the cheese and get the stretching effect. 😉 Continue with the layers until the composition is finished, and the last layer is the white sauce.

At the end I sprinkled some Parmesan.
I transferred the baking dish to the oven at 170 degrees Celsius for about 40 minutes.

Although the look was too green for me, the taste was perfect. I can manage to get over the color  if the smell and taste are perfect.

Depending on how much you like at a time, this recipe can be divided in 8 to 12 portions, and one serving has about 400-500 calories. So be careful how much you eat!

20170610_174723

Bon appétit I hope you enjoy it!

1 thought on “Chicken lasagna with spinach and cheese sauce”

Leave a Reply

