Home made

Smoked meat soup

I do not know about you, but I usually have good luck when I cook something for the first time … and it helps to be in a hurry and not be “obsessed” on quantities and cooking time.

To begin I must admit that I decided to make a soup at the last moment, waiting for our friends to visit. I like to cook, I thought manage to finish everything before they came, yet time does not go my way. To be honest it didn’t take long to finish. Given the short amount of time I had, I used  precooked smoked ham.

I love soups with meat but the  Transylvania soup with smoked ham  eaten in bread is my all time favorite. Next time I’ll be serving it in bread.

Ingredients:
• 500-800 g smoked ham with bone
• 1 kg red potatoes
• 2 carrots
•  1/2 of celery root 
• 1-2 cans of red bean
• 1 large red onion
• 1-2 tablespoons tarragon
• 1-2 tablespoons smoked paprika
• 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
• 1 tablespoon vegetable salt
• salt and pepper to taste
• cream for serving

 
I put the water to boil in a 4 liter pot until the smoked ham was brought home 😉 and cut the vegetables  into cubes – these are the only preparations for this recipe.
Now as I mentioned I was working against the clock and I cannot tell the exact amount of time needed but everything was ready in about an hour.
After boiling the boned ham 20 minutes   I added  the onions, carrots and celery to the pot. I left it on  high heat for another 20 minutes and then we added potatoes.
When the   potatoes were almost boiled  I pulled out  the bone to cut up the meat, during which I added a tablespoon of vegetable salt and I put  in the beans. At this stage we had guests and aid in the kitchen, so everything was  done quickly.

After I added the cans of beans I realized that there were too much vegetables and little soup – I must admit that celery was big and the amount was pretty much. So I  removed about 3 ladles of vegetables – about 500 g- that can be used as a garnish to a second dish.

20170305_193800
Vegetable mix

I put in the sliced smoked meat and I seasoned with smoked paprika ( the jar almost fell  into the soup and it was “traditionally” spicy), tarragon, salt with herbs and pepper.

20170304_153954
The pot of smoked meat soup

The final touch is a spoon of cream to embrace the other aromas and to make the taste heavenly.

Give this a try, you won’t regret it!

Stay positive, happy and smile, you can do it all!

20170305_195631
Smoked meat soup
1 thought on “Smoked meat soup”

Leave a Reply

