Home made, Recipe

Chicken sour soup

This is a traditional soup from the Moldavian part of Romania I came to love to make. It is quite easy to make but because I use free range chicken I have a slightly different way to make it.

For the ingredients you need:

1 kg chicken meat ( I use mainly legs but traditionally it’s made out of chicken breast)

2-3 carrots

1 big onion

1/2 celery root

2 celery stalks

4 egg yolks

200 ml unsweetened Whipping cream 30% fat

4 pieces of pickled peppers

100 ml vinegar or pickled pepper liquid according to taste

4-5 gloves of garlic

salt, black pepper, ± seasoned salt.

I generally start by boiling the meat and throwing the first water. I put my meat in a pressure cooker in 4-5 liters of waterbecause the meat I use is a bit thicker and needs to be boiled more) with the carrots, celery root, onion and salt. According to my pressure cooker I put the timer for  25 minutes after the boil begins.

Meanwhile I dice the celery stalks and pickled peppers, and mash the garlic.

When the timer rings and I can open the pressure cooker I take out the meat and vegetables and let them to cool and I transfer 3 liters of stock in another pot.

TIP: you can transfer the rest of the stock in a plastic bottle and put it in the freezer to defrost and use for other recipes.

Because I use the pressure cooker I have to wait a bit for the stock to cool down.

Whisk together the egg yolks, whipping cream and salt, then add a ladle of stock to the mix. Add another 4-5 stock ladles to dissolve and then pour all the mix in the pot.

Remove the bone and cut the meat in strips, dice the carrots and return in pot.

Add the diced celery stalks, pickled peppers, and mashed garlic.

Season with the vinegar, salt and black pepper to taste.

Bring the pot to boil and cook until the celery is done.

The soup should look like this. It’s great in the cold season and to eat after a hangover.

Hope you like it. Enjoy!

 

1 thought on “Chicken sour soup”

Leave a Reply

